

## Iosco County Democratic Party 224 Newman St. East Tawas, MI 48730

ioscocountydems@gmail.com

March 29, 2023

President Joe Biden The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. N.W. Washington D.C, 20500

Re: Intervention in 6th Circuit appeal of State of Michigan on removal decision of Judge Neff (Western District of Michigan).

Dear Mr. President,

This is an update from our March 16<sup>th</sup> letter. Please note the total number of county, congressional district, and caucus chairs is now at 44. The purpose of this letter is to urge that the Solicitor General file a friend of the court brief in the 6th Circuit Court of Appeals dealing with the removal decision of Judge Janet Neff in the case of State of Michigan vs. Enbridge. On February 21, 2023, Judge Neff certified the question of permitting an interlocutory appeal by the State of Michigan. This matter thus deserves urgent review at the highest levels.

Judge Neff's removal decision of 08/18/2022 ignored the clear 30-day statutory limitation on removal of state litigation to federal court, set forth in USC Section 28 USC 1446(b). The underlying complaint filed by Michigan Attorney General Dana Nessel in state court, claimed that the 1953 Easement (permitting Line 5 to use the State bottomlands at the Straits of Mackinac) failed to consider the State's public trust doctrine. That fact is not in dispute.

In a letter dated 01/15/2023, Michigan Democratic Party Chair Lavora Barnes requested that you declare a climate emergency and cancel the permits authorizing Enbridge Line 5 to cross the US/Canadian border. We believe that the imminent risk of a devastating oil pipeline spill in the Great Lakes justifies Presidential intervention. However, the recent decision of Judge Neff means that the 6th Circuit will be considering which court should decide the issue - after three years of dangerous delay just on jurisdiction! State court Judge Jamo had cross motions for summary disposition pending at the time of Enbridge's meritless removal to federal court.

Returning that case now to state court – where Enbridge had been litigating the public trust doctrine matter for well over a year – may be the best alternative for final resolution of this most important matter.

President Biden, we urge that you ask all concerned federal agencies to consider intervening in this removal appeal.

Sincerely,

James Mortimer
Campaign Committee Chair

## **Michigan Democratic Party**

## County, Congressional District, and Caucus Chair Signers

Joe Lukasiewicz, Alcona County Helen Goyings, Allegan County Linda Ayers, Alpena County Veronica Welter, Antrim County Gail Schmidt, Arenac County Christina Bush, Barry County Jim Dulzo, Benzie County Amy Scrima, Berrien County Linda Pell, Calhoun County Naomi Ludman, Cass County Joanne Cromley, Cheboygan County Allison Youngs, Chippewa County Mike Hinterman, Emmett County Michael Fields, Gladwin County Jeff Cooley. Hillsdale County William Keith, Houghton County Charles Henry, Huron County Lynn Mason, Ionia County Carole Bleau, Iosco County Lisa Powell, Iron County Cathy Willerment, Isabella County Amador Ybarra, Jackson County

Gary Bull, Kalkaska County Sandy Clarke, Lake County Anissa Buffin, Lapeer County Brigid Hart, Leelanau County Bill Swift. Lenawee County Judy Daubenmier, Livingston County Jennie Hoffman, Mackinac County Alysa Diebolt, Macomb County John Helge, Manistee County Leif Davis-Williams, Missaukee County Justin Johnson, Montcalm, County Dallas Dean, Newaygo County Anthony Bash, Ogemaw County Patricia Morscheck, Otsego County Tim Smith. Ottawa County David Tavidian, Presque Isle County Deborah Parker, Tuscola County Theresa Reid, Washtenaw County Amanda Siggins, Wexford County Mary Minnick, Second District Cathy Albro, Rural Caucus Wesley Watson, Environmental Caucus

## Copy to:

Attorney General, Merrick Garland
US Solicitor General,
Elizabeth Prelogar,
Secretary of Transportation,
Pete Buttigieg
Secretary of State, Antony Blinken
Secretary of the Interior, Deb Haaland
Secretary of Energy, Jennifer Granholm
Administrator of the Environmental
Protection Agency, Michael Regan

Representative Debbie Dingell Representative Dan Kildee Representative Haley Stevens Representative Hillary Scholten Representative Elissa Slotkin Representative Shri Thanedar Representative Rashida Tlaib US Senator, Gary Peters US Senator, Debbie Stabenow Governor, Gretchen Whitmer Attorney General, Dana Nessel